Greetings and Salutations!

Just a forewarning, this is my first blog so please bear with me while I learn the ropes! My name is Savvy and I currently live in a small town in southern Japan. This is my second year living here, and teaching English to elementary and middle school kids. Living in Japan, especially rural Japan, is a series of amazing and sometimes ridiculous events. I love my little town and a lot of the people in it, so my daily life will surely creep into my posts at times. 


Image

I mainly want this blog to discuss all manner of crafts. My focus changes quite a bit, but I love to crochet, knit, sew, make teaching materials, and pretty much anything else that involves creating something. Occasionally I’ll also cover photography and baking, since they are constants in my life. Right now I’m experiencing a creative burst for amigurumi, or crochet plush dolls. I plan on discussing how to make the different elements of amigurumi, post a few tutorials, and even some original patterns! It’s gonna be fun!

Image

The name of my blog (and Etsy shop), Fuwa Fuwa (ふわふわ), comes from a Japanese word. It is onomatopoeia for a state of being, instead of a sound. It means soft, fluffy, spongy, and light. Describing a cloud may be the perfect way to use fuwa fuwa. Except for about a year when I got it chemically straightened, I have always had crazy curly hair. Living in Japan means more people are intrigued by it than ever before. Consequently, I am known around my tiny town as “the girl with fuwa fuwa hair,” and many of my students like to sneak up behind me to bounce my curls and scream “fuwa fuwa!!” Luckily it also happens to be one of my favorite Japanese words since it’s so fun to say! To me, fuwa fuwa evokes a kind of light, whimsical happiness, and that’s just what I hope to promote through these blog posts and the items in my shop.

Next week I will post a free pattern for a certain beloved American superhero. Keep a look out! Thanks for reading!

This entry was published on May 11, 2014 at 11:15. It’s filed under About Savvy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Greetings and Salutations!

  1. Mary on said:

    Belly laugh on the fuwa fuwa hair description! 😉

Leave a Reply

