All the Yarn


Yarn

Finding out a store ships to Japan is both elating and extremely dangerous. Surely you can understand why it would be so exciting to find a company that will indeed send you shoes that fit, pants made for people with any semblance of a back side, any number of nostalgic foods, or anything else you’ve been lusting after. The danger is probably equally obvious; after your inner dialogue has decided that it’s absolutely worth it to purchase whatever you found, the ugly shipping rate unmasks itself. Even so, it’s hard to resist the temptation of using international shipping to Japan.

Most recently, I found a yarn site that ships to Japan. Needless to say I went a little overboard. This weekend I received my giant shipment of yarn. YAY! Unlike buying yarn from a craft store or when I’m back in the States, I actually have a plan for ALL the skeins I bought! Trust me, when I’m actually standing in a store staring down the yarn aisle, I definitely don’t have a plan for the must-have shades I only just discovered.

Admittedly, many of these are for various upcoming amigurumi doll ideas. In other words, I’ll have plenty left over to use for another project or two. Hey, I didn’t say I had a plan to USE all the yarn… Just that every color I bought is accounted for. The rest are set to become my very first crochet blanket!

YarnA while ago I found and saved an image of this amazing blanket. Afghan? They’re interchangeable, right? Really, what’s the difference? Anyway, it’s pretty simple and made up of a bunch of granny squares, which is perfect for me because I only have to work on a small piece at a time. What makes it amazing is the simple design made with the squares. I can’t wait to show you! It took a long round in Photoshop to decide on colors, so I it’ll be a while before I have anything to show you. It’s my first really long-term project, so I have no idea how long it will take me. In the meantime, I am working on a bunch of new amigurumi doll ideas, so keep a look out!


In completely unrelated news, it’s firefly time in Japan! Back when I was a kid, my brother and I collected our fair share of fireflies, trying to keep them alive for as long as possible in Mason jar prisons. We’d just chase the ones we found in our backyard. I only remember ever having maybe 100 spread out searching for their soul mates in the collective backyard, shared with our surrounding neighbors. It was beautiful to be sure, but it’s not like being surrounded by stars.

Let me tell you, fireflies in Japan are on a whole other level. For one thing, they’re huge! Bugs in general here are disturbingly large compared to their American counterparts, and a shocking number can seriously harm you… Anyway, these fireflies are big so their lights are bigger too, more like free-flying twinkling Christmas lights. The light they emit is also a brighter neon green. And apparently, they come out in hoards.

I went with a few friends to a river close to my friend’s house, where trees surrounded the river. Even without the fireflies it felt magical with the low roar of the river and the moonlit rocks. This last week was almost constant rain, so we were lucky to have a mostly cloudy night on Friday, perfect for firefly viewing. If you have the means, I highly recommend finding firefly breeding grounds and waiting for peek season. It was indescribable. When we first arrived we climbed down to the riverbed and watched a large group of fireflies dancing around a bend in the river near an alcove of trees. It looked almost like a gateway to another world. Later they flew all around us, encompassing us with vanishing wisps of light. It’s an unbelievable thing, feeling like you’ve suddenly discovered a place full of magic, among flying stars.Firefly River

This entry was published on June 8, 2014 at 21:54. It’s filed under Amigurumi and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “All the Yarn

  1. That’s a GORGEOUS picture!

  2. What a cool, magical picture of the fireflies. I have never seen them in person. There’s no yarn store near you in Japan? Or it’s too expensive?

    • Never? I hope you can one day!
      The town I live in is really small and doesn’t have a craft store. The “big” city closest to me has one but not the greatest selection of yarn. Strangely they have a wide selection of mohair yarn…

  3. Very pretty picture! magic !

Leave a Reply

